When you take chances, things change

It’s been a while since I’ve written a blog. The last time I posted one was after the Cubs had won the World Series. It’s not that I’ve been lazy or not interested, I’ve been busy. Recently, I’ve gotten into a new job, moved into a new apartment and have been gathering furniture and the home essentials. With all of this going on, I have began to realize how much your plans can change when you take a chance and sacrifice everything in order to accomplish your dreams.

Back in July I wrote several blogs, which I hope you will go back and read about my decision to pick up everything and leave Chicago for California. When I first got to California, I was staying with a friend who was helping me get on my feet and helped me get the job that I now have in private security. As these months have gone by, I’ve realized that my priorities have changed. The plan was to work for a while, get into graduate school and get my PhD. in Political Science, but now after much thought I have realized that this is not the best path forward to reach my ultimate goal. In fact I realized that my original plan before I decided to get my PhD. is the best way to go and that is becoming a probation officer. And California is the perfect place to do that.

Back in Illinois, they’re firing state workers left and right because the governor and the lawmakers can’t agree on a budget and the state is the definition of broke. In California, the state is in much better condition has a balanced budget and is looking for people to go into law enforcement and probation. Now when I first went back to college, it was my intention to graduate and become a probation before I changed my mind, now I’m back to being a probation officer. The reasons for this are as follows; one, I want to make a difference in the world and helping people stay on the track as their probation officer is most certainly a good way to make that difference. Two; my background in social justice will allow me to offer alternatives other than jail and severe punishment to those under my supervision and to the courts, and since California has began experimenting with alternatives to mass incarceration, the system is barking right up my tree. And three; being a probation officer will allow me to make connections with high ranking individuals, judges etc. that will pave the road for my political career. A Master’s degree however; is still certainly in the picture.

There was a time when I said that I would never leave Chicago, then one day after realizing how little opportunity there was there and in the state of Illinois, I decided to take the offer my friend had put on the table and it has been a good decision. And this experience has taught me one thing; that no matter how much we honor our roots and no how matter how much we  love where we come from, sometimes we need to pull up our stakes and try out new places. It may be a blessing as it has been for me, or it may be a disaster, but you never know unless you try. I can honestly say that after being in California for only five months, I have found opportunities and advantages that I did not have in Illinois and for the first time ever, I can see a clear path towards my goals.

When you take chances, things change. Your plans and ideas change. Your path to your goals and your dreams and the path to the destiny you have set forth for yourself changes. Taking chances might seem like a scary thing, but I can tell you from first hand experience that they may very well can be a blessing. One of the most important things to remember is that no matter what you believe, everything happens for a reason. The leaf falls from the tree for a reason. The bee pollinates the flower for a reason, and you end up in different places for a reason. So fear not when it comes to taking chances or embracing big changes in your life, it’s happening for a reason and it’s best not to fight it.

Leave a Reply

